My own “Call Me By My True Names” poem alá Thich Nhat Hanh

Standard

I am the mouse the cat is
toying with before it breaks its neck.

I am the first new bud of spring,
and the last leaf to fall in autumn.

I am the man you just yelled at
for getting your coffee order wrong.

I am the small girl who just handed
you a wildflower along an empty mountain road.

I am the sniper with the rifle sighting the
enemy soldier’s head in the rocky hills of Afghanistan.

And I am the woman crying for her dead
child just torn apart by a bomb outside of Kabul.

I am the iridescent salmon that swims up the river of its birth.

I am the dandelion bending in the warm summer breeze.

Leave a Reply

